I Know I’m Weird, You Don’t Have to Tell Me

From Janelle:

The construction guys tell me I’m weird but really, they don’t need to, I know. I don’t like normal; normal is boring. I managed to squeeze away a few hours from work so that I could meet with the floor installers and banish the undesirable pieces to unnoticed corners and supervise the cabinet pull hole drilling. We all know how it went the last time I supervised hole drilling but in case you don’t remember, the front door handle is crooked, very crooked. The holes were drilled where I asked them to be so I have no one to blame but myself which is why I needed to be here. I was informed in no uncertain terms that I did not need to peer over the installers shoulder by both Contractor Don and Installer Wayne but I insisted and Wayne reluctantly agreed to meet back at the house after my meeting.

IMG_2742[1]

We went over which size handles went where and he carefully measured and gave his Professional Opinion and together we agreed on the exact placement for the handles on each size of cabinet or drawer. I have learned over time that the minute you aren’t paying attention something will happen so I hung out in the kitchen, much to his annoyance. I stepped away for a bit and he drilled holes for the large handles rather than the smaller ones on a medium sized cabinet; ugh! We joked that he didn’t realize that I wanted the smaller ones because he had pulled off my carefully labeled pieces of tape marked with the size and location when I had my back turned. It worked out fine as either the smaller or larger size fit the door and the small ones are backordered anyway. At some point he commented that “These are not normal” and I laughed, “Yes, I know, look around here. Nothing is normal because normal is BORING!”

IMG_2747[1]

The turning point in our relationship was when I pulled out the boob knobs for the Andy Warhol cabinet. Funny how that gets guys every time. Paul at Liz’s Antique Hardware where I purchased them never remembers me until I mention them when I call to check on our backorder. Wayne was enthralled that I would want not only a set of boobs on the cabinetry but lips, a hand and a butt. I know I’m weird but ordinary just doesn’t do it for me. Our house will be unusual and FUN and that’s just how I like it.  Why take yourself too seriously?

Boob Knobs

As Wayne wrapped up he commented that he thought I was nuts at first but that it was right that I was present for the installation and that he really liked all the handles, especially, of course, the boobs.

IMG_2748[1]

From Lewis:
Yup! She’s nuts and weird. I thought she was going to select every piece of wood going on the floor, hand it to the installers and do it all day. As for me and Wayne. It was good that she was there because if the mistake was made by us it could have been catastrophic. But since Janelle was supervising and I was outside no explanation was necessary. Once again I’m glad I was just a spectator when Janelle chose the position of the door handle. Gave my opinion and walked away without a scar.

IMG_2751[1]

What do you think?

camino times two

walking together from Le Puy to Finisterre

What Were We Thinking?

One Couple's Foray into Remodeling Purgatory.

tenandsix(andtwelve)

Fashion. Food. Lifestyle. Inspiration.

Salted Kitchen

For the love of vegetables

foodbod

healthy tasty food that I love to make and eat and share

On the Luce travel blog

Part-time travel, full-time travel obsession

McALPINE

Residential Architecture and Interior Design Partnership. We find sanctuary in a place that mirrors our soul. The best house is the house that looks like how we feel inside.

Adventures in Remodeling

Misdirected remodeling

Miss Four Eyes

Seeing twice as much absolutely counts as a super power.

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Attempts in Domesticity

trying to emulate Martha Stewart in a town full of hipsters...

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

designchalk.wordpress.com/

Comfortable, classic + timeless spaces

The Ugly Volvo

Attempts at Adulthood

TalesAlongTheWay

Life's journey to discover tales of history, culture, and faith from New York to India and places along the way.

No White Food

Add Life::Eat Color

