I Dream of Jeannie

From Janelle:

 “I went from Phoenix, Arizona All the way to Tacoma, Philadelphia, Atlanta, L.A. Northern California where the girls are warm So I could be with my sweet baby, yeah.”  These Steve Miller Band RockN Me lyrics kept playing in my head as we spent six hours (yes six!) in the car yesterday to get to the Colorado River or as we call it, “The River”.  It should be less than a five hour drive.  Don’t ask.  “I went from Palm Springs, California all the way to Arizona so I could get a day off to relax, yeah.”

A required errand in Palm Springs gave me the perfect excuse to drag Lewis to do a little shopping.  Who knew there are disposable placemats and washable disposable napkins.  Just think, no more stain remover feverishly applied unsuccessfully to spaghetti sauce remnants and embarrassment when a discolored piece of fabric is plonked in front of a guest.  I bought an orange set of both.  Lewis, as usual, paced while the transaction occurred.

Disposal placemats and washable disposable napkins

Disposal placemats and washable disposable napkins

Dining room chairs are the only expected furniture purchases.  Our $4.99 aqua Ikea foldups are perfect additions for a large dinner party but they are not setting foot on my new floors as the main event any longer.  I know, it’s insane that those actually feigned to be proper dining chairs but I just never found anything that I liked enough to buy them and as we would be remodeling eventually figured that we’d acquire some then.  I had no idea it would be ten years….

We have until the end of the month to decide if the orange dining chairs at Distinctive Home are “the ones” as the 20% off everything orange sale ends July 31.  I love them but there are so many fabulous pieces it is so difficult to choose.  Hence the Ikea chairs.

Are these The Ones?

Are these The Ones?

I convinced Lewis to stop at Swank Interiors where I purchased my Fabulous Retro Light a couple years ago.   Clyde happily greeted us when we arrived and toured the store with us as we shopped, wagging his tail in appreciation of our choices.  Aperitifs and digestifs are served in antique gold gilded glasses in our house but they must be hand washed.  A set of six dishwasher friendly 1960’s Hazel Atlas Capri Dot blue whiskey old fashioneds were placed neatly into my shopping bag.

Swank glasses

A 70’s two part panel painting, reminiscent of a bulls-eye or Parcheesi game board caught my eye and I think that it would look amazing in the guest/TV room next to the HUDDLE bed/couch.  Lewis tries to pretend I’m not actually seriously contemplating buying anything as it always makes him nervous to spend money but he did rub a genie bottle signed by Barbara Eden in the hopes that something good would appear.  Maybe we should buy that too?

Swank vintage 70's painting

From Lewis:

Why is everything so expensive in Palm Springs??? Even in the off season. I get the fact that everyone sees art differently but it does not “speak to me”.  It’s official Janelle does not get unsupervised travel to Palm Springs.

Ok now you have to admit if you’re a guy who grew up watching Jeannie in the early 70’s  you couldn’t help wanting to rub something.

What do you think, is the Parcheesi painting and orange dining chair “The One?”

2 Responses to I Dream of Jeannie

  1. Dana Jones says:

    I vote yes on the chairs. In 10 years when you finally find the ‘perfect’ chairs these will have lived a very useful and beautiful life.
    I vote no on the art. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder, but this doesn’t have the happy, fun feel of your Andy Warhol tile.

    • Ha ha, that’s funny. Yes, in 10 years when I have “decided” they will be worn out. Good point!
      Hmmm, no, definitely not the happy go lucky Warhol tile but it’s a 70’s more subdued piece, not the fun loving 60′. I agree; 60’s colors are more fun.
      Thanks, as always, for your input!

What do you think?

camino times two

walking together from Le Puy to Finisterre

What Were We Thinking?

One Couple's Foray into Remodeling Purgatory.

tenandsix(andtwelve)

Fashion. Food. Lifestyle. Inspiration.

Salted Kitchen

For the love of vegetables

foodbod

healthy tasty food that I love to make and eat and share

On the Luce travel blog

Part-time travel, full-time travel obsession

McALPINE

Residential Architecture and Interior Design Partnership. We find sanctuary in a place that mirrors our soul. The best house is the house that looks like how we feel inside.

Adventures in Remodeling

Misdirected remodeling

Miss Four Eyes

Seeing twice as much absolutely counts as a super power.

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Attempts in Domesticity

trying to emulate Martha Stewart in a town full of hipsters...

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

designchalk.wordpress.com/

Comfortable, classic + timeless spaces

The Ugly Volvo

Attempts at Adulthood

TalesAlongTheWay

Life's journey to discover tales of history, culture, and faith from New York to India and places along the way.

No White Food

Add Life::Eat Color

