Buyer’s Remorse

From Janelle:

Tile was chosen for the kitchen and bar backsplash last summer but alas, I waited too long to order it and the distributor for the funky orange Spanish tile I’d chosen for the bar has gone belly up.   As we may actually begin dry walling next week I made a resolution to hit a tile store near my office every day at lunch until I’d run out of stores.  I purchased the glass tile for the guest bathroom six, yes six years ago that will be installed during this project.  I wouldn’t choose it again now but I still like it well enough and it will look beautiful and Lewis would have killed me had I scrapped it.  (We had planned to start our remodel back then but my job exploded and I just couldn’t work 60 to 100 hrs a week and focus on a remodel.)

I visited a new store and didn’t really expect success but found something that I’ve never seen before and that always excites me.  And color.  Color always excites me.   An hourglass shape is a recurring theme in the décor I’ve chosen and it’s funny but I’ve always been drawn to circles or squares and hard lines but this more freeform shape has recently garnered my attention.

Refer back to my October 21 Post and let me know how you think these tiles would look with “My Fabulous Retro Light”.  I think that the blue would look best but the other one intrigues me…  There may be a lime green couch and an orange chair; who knows?  Both the kitchen and bar cabinets will be high gloss white with white Caesarstone counters so we’re not restricted by competing colors.  That‘s what art is for.  We have a piece of art with cobalt blue and orange and another one with burnt colors similar to the second tile so I think that they would both fit in beautifully.  Chose one and let me know what you think!

Potential Bar Backsplash Tile in Blue

Potential Bar Backsplash Tile in Blue

Potential Bar Backsplash in Burnt Colors

Potential Bar Backsplash in Burnt Colors

From Lewis:

It’s too bad about the orange tile. It would have looked good as the background for my new kegerator.  I choose the blue tile design that Janelle found and hopefully it will not discontinue before we order it.

Funky Orange Discontinued Tile

Funky Orange Discontinued Tile

Why we decided to start the remodel in the bathroom I can’t answer. But it was planned and all the fixtures and tile were bought from a store that is no longer with us. And of course it was all special order including the European style toilet that the plumbing had to be moved to accommodate it. So yes if Janelle was to decide to not use it after all this time I might be a little mad.

From Janelle:

I was afraid that the tile I had chosen would be discontinued and I guess I thought that we would proceed with the bathroom remodel only and purchased all the fixtures. Let’s hope that the fittings, etc. have not been lost as the models have most likely been discontinued as well!  As it turns out, the tile that I couldn’t live without at the time is the same one that I wouldn’t choose again.

Bathroom Tile I Wouldn't Choose Again

Bathroom Tile I Wouldn’t Choose Again

Which tile would you choose?

10 Responses to Buyer’s Remorse

  1. Lynda MARTINELLI Rahaeuser says:

    The amber looks more antiquie to me than retro and even though I am NOT a blue person I have to agree with Lewis the blue does “pop”

  2. Sandy says:

    I gotta go with the blue as well. It gives a huge pop of color as well as giving you the slight rust accent.

  3. I like the blue toooooooooo!

  4. Dana Jones says:

    Hi Janelle,
    I too think blue is the right choice!

  5. Jen says:

    Any idea what the name or brand of the blue and orange tiles are? I love them both!

What do you think?

camino times two

walking together from Le Puy to Finisterre

What Were We Thinking?

One Couple's Foray into Remodeling Purgatory.

tenandsix(andtwelve)

Fashion. Food. Lifestyle. Inspiration.

Salted Kitchen

For the love of vegetables

foodbod

healthy tasty food that I love to make and eat and share

On the Luce travel blog

Part-time travel, full-time travel obsession

McALPINE

Residential Architecture and Interior Design Partnership. We find sanctuary in a place that mirrors our soul. The best house is the house that looks like how we feel inside.

Adventures in Remodeling

Misdirected remodeling

Miss Four Eyes

Seeing twice as much absolutely counts as a super power.

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Attempts in Domesticity

trying to emulate Martha Stewart in a town full of hipsters...

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

designchalk.wordpress.com/

Comfortable, classic + timeless spaces

The Ugly Volvo

Attempts at Adulthood

TalesAlongTheWay

Life's journey to discover tales of history, culture, and faith from New York to India and places along the way.

No White Food

Add Life::Eat Color

