Hold on for Dear Life

From Janelle:

The door selection, modification and installation saga continues as we carry on opening and closing the door by pulling on the deadbolt, sans handle.  Everyone who crosses our threshold exclaims “The door is GORGEOUS!” so I know it will be worth it but honestly, are we done yet?  We purchased a handle a few months ago and there has been much discussion on who would perform the precision mounting, Tom the artist metalworker or Alberto, the contractor’s  “Right Hand Man”.  “We only get one chance” I said several times and the hole placement must be measured perfectly.  

I wanted to be present for the precision drilling and met Alberto before work.  The knob was held in position, the hole placement was marked, an actual hole was drilled and off I went to work.  Returning home that evening I freaked when I saw the installed door pull; the careful measurements had not been made while the door was closed but open and it was centered sure enough but set way too far right when the door is closed.  Ugh!  Another meeting ensued, a Bondo repair or a small cover plate to cover the hole was discussed.  A cover plate was manufactured and another meeting held.  We determined that the cover plate would detract from the awesome handle and Bondo would be next to impossible to match to the finish and would eventually shrivel and drop out.  The drilled hole position would remain.

Let’s hope no one (namely me!) will slam their fingers in the extremely heavy entry due to the close proximity of the handle to the door jam.  A neighbor kid slammed my finger in a gate resulting in my first trip to the hospital and one squished finger is enough!

From Lewis:

If anyone would slam the door on their finger it would be Janelle.  I’m just glad I was not involved in the placement of the handle.  I was there but Janelle was the one analyzing the perfect spot for the handle. I could not imagine how many times for the next twenty years that I would have heard, “Why did you put the handle there without asking me first?” “Why did you put the handle there without asking me first?”  “Why did you put the handle there without asking me first?” “Why did you put the handle there without asking me first?”……..

From Janelle:

That’s why I was there for the measurement; I have no one to blame but myself!

  

It could have been a peep hole if it was centered...

It could have been a peep hole if it was centered…

 

 

 

What do you think?

camino times two

walking together from Le Puy to Finisterre

What Were We Thinking?

One Couple's Foray into Remodeling Purgatory.

tenandsix(andtwelve)

Fashion. Food. Lifestyle. Inspiration.

Salted Kitchen

For the love of vegetables

foodbod

healthy tasty food that I love to make and eat and share

On the Luce travel blog

Part-time travel, full-time travel obsession

McALPINE

Residential Architecture and Interior Design Partnership. We find sanctuary in a place that mirrors our soul. The best house is the house that looks like how we feel inside.

Adventures in Remodeling

Misdirected remodeling

Miss Four Eyes

Seeing twice as much absolutely counts as a super power.

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Attempts in Domesticity

trying to emulate Martha Stewart in a town full of hipsters...

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

designchalk.wordpress.com/

Comfortable, classic + timeless spaces

The Ugly Volvo

Attempts at Adulthood

TalesAlongTheWay

Life's journey to discover tales of history, culture, and faith from New York to India and places along the way.

No White Food

Add Life::Eat Color

