More than just Broken Glass

From Janelle:

It is not prudent to leave town while remodeling but long term plans to visit friends and family in the Pacific Northwest beckoned and we departed with strict instructions to the contractor not to do any work for the four business days we were gone.

Approaching the front door I asked “Why is there glass in the door when we left there were wood planks?  And WHY is it installed with the textured side on the inside rather than the outside???”

 Fuming I called the contractor and he explained that glass had been installed “correctly” and “logically”. A call to the glass company owner resulted in an additional explanation that the glass had been installed “correctly”.  She clarified that they “always install windows with the texture on the inside” and I patiently inquired if that was perhaps because the textured side is the pretty side and didn’t she think that when guests approach my front door they should see the beautiful pattern, not the plain flat shiny back surface???  “Oh, well, I see your point.” Ugh!  $250 is the fee to re-install the panels “correctly” and hopefully not one of the sixteen firmly siliconed panes will break. 

Light reflects off the non-textured glass

Light reflects off the non-textured glass

Ready to rumble I told Lewis that we would send the bill to the contractor since it was against our explicit instructions that work not be done while we were away and finally Lewis fessed up, “Well, I think that maybe I MIGHT have told him it was ok to come into the house and install the windows”.  Smooth move ex-lax.

From Lewis:

Confession!!!

Yes, Janelle did not want anyone in the house and demanded it.  Due to a mix-up at the glass store the wrong size was ordered and they busted their asses to try and get it ready to install ASAP because we were leaving town and wanted the house to be secure.  For temporary security plywood was installed in the door openings.  As we were getting ready to leave I had a conversation with contractor Don and we discussed that it would be better to install next week but if there was a scheduling problem and it needed to be done I said go ahead but don’t tell Janelle.  Better to ask forgiveness than reason with a stubborn woman!  I figured how could installing glass go wrong unless it breaks.  Well we returned home and I thought the door looked great.  Janelle is pissed because someone was in the house although we have given the contractor that we trust a key and alarm code.

Now to prove a point and that she is in charge she got the decorator to agree it is wrong and is now demanding it be changed!!!  “I cannot live with it!” First of all you have to see that it looks good on both sides.  A couple buddies of mine were over and totally loved the door but did not notice the windows were in backwards.  I’m guessing that the installers did a professional job and sealed those in to last forever unless broken. Soooo to take them out risks the possible scratching of the door which scratches easily and breaking all the tempered glass trying to remove them from the seal but I guess it doesn’t matter!! I’m staying out of it and hope it works out.

From Janelle:

NOW he wants to stay out of it????????????????????             

1.            I do trust our contractor.  Our outside project contractor a couple years ago insisted that we allow him to re-pour the concrete stairs in the front entry and against my better judgment I acquiesced to his and Lewis’ pressure to do it while we were out of town.  Every time I walk through the doorway I cringe at the wrinkled and lumpy concrete. 

Lumpy concrete

Lumpy concrete

2.            “The guys” (ie contractor, contractor’s lead man and Lewis) have run this project with little input from me.  We dug to China to replace a main sewer line in the kitchen, headers were installed to the perfect height, electrical wires and plumbing lines were run.  That is their department and I knew they had it under control. 

3.            When we began this venture  I had a conversation with “The guys”.   Since I am not home during the day and Lewis is, “the guys” and I agreed that I would have final sign off on anything in the design arena and that if something was done that I didn’t want or didn’t like or didn’t ask for when I got home if I didn’t like it we would rip it out.  We would then discuss who would pay for it.  It would depend on the situation and thus, we all have a vested interest in good communication.

4.            Nothing good could come of work done while we were away.  Why risk duplicating the crimped concrete disaster?  

5.            The glass was supposed to be installed the day before we left.  It wasn’t.  So?  The installation could wait until we returned.

6.            No one asked me, the Homeowner with the Dream how I wanted the windowpanes installed.  His buddies think it looks good?  My designer and every woman I’ve spoken with agree; the textured side should be seen from the outside!

7.            My husband and I are supposed to be a team, us against the world, an impenetrable fortress against all outsiders and evil.  Our armor has been pierced and blood has been drawn.  Replacing broken glass will not fix that.

            How do you resolve conflicts with your partner?

Textured glass mutes and absorbs light reflections

Textured glass mutes and absorbs light reflections

8 Responses to More than just Broken Glass

  1. Colleen says:

    I agree with you Janelle. Textured side OUT!!!! As far as your question “how do you resolve conflict with your partner”? Well, after much remodeling episodes, personally, hubby just has to learn to say “you were right honey” and proceed as honey wishes……problem solved and on to the next…ummmmm…redo.

    • Most of the time I like that Lewis has a hard time saying NO so we’re just going to have to figure out how not to get him in the middle of a pickle. Translation; “the guys” need to communicate better! Let’s hope this is the last, I mean ONLY redo!

  2. Lynda MARTINELLI Rahaeuser says:

    Oh boy that’s a tough one and I wouldn’t even think of getting in the middle of THAT one…

  3. Sandy says:

    First I would like to see a photo of the door from both sides so I can not be accused of not seeing all the evidence. With that said with the info provided and knowing Janelles sense of style I am leaning in her direction. As far as conflict solving, it totally depends on the severity of the conflict!

    • The first photo of the door is from the outside and the second from the inside. I tried to take “close up” photos but the evidence wasn’t strongly presented. This one was a week long conflict; resolution to be determined!

  4. Dee Wood says:

    Yes, Janelle knows her stuff! But, is it worth it to potentially damage the door + relationships with your contractor & subs?? … nah.
    I drove by. It’s gorgeous. No worries.
    Nobody could even tell.

    Bet Lewis won’t do that again.

  5. Relationships with contractor and hubby are good. Windowpanes will be reinstalled today. I will notice every time I walk through the door. Been there, done, than, and not doing it again. Keep your fingers crossed that there is no door scratching or broken glass!

What do you think?

camino times two

walking together from Le Puy to Finisterre

What Were We Thinking?

One Couple's Foray into Remodeling Purgatory.

tenandsix(andtwelve)

Fashion. Food. Lifestyle. Inspiration.

Salted Kitchen

For the love of vegetables

foodbod

healthy tasty food that I love to make and eat and share

On the Luce travel blog

Part-time travel, full-time travel obsession

McALPINE

Residential Architecture and Interior Design Partnership. We find sanctuary in a place that mirrors our soul. The best house is the house that looks like how we feel inside.

Adventures in Remodeling

Misdirected remodeling

Miss Four Eyes

Seeing twice as much absolutely counts as a super power.

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Attempts in Domesticity

trying to emulate Martha Stewart in a town full of hipsters...

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

designchalk.wordpress.com/

Comfortable, classic + timeless spaces

The Ugly Volvo

Attempts at Adulthood

TalesAlongTheWay

Life's journey to discover tales of history, culture, and faith from New York to India and places along the way.

No White Food

Add Life::Eat Color

