There’s a Possum in my House!

From Janelle

Just barely 2 days after the demo began, we had a visitor.  Irritated by the interruptions to their daily naps while workmen are here, the kitties have begun peeing in the house and have thus been relegated to the balcony.  They enjoy sunshine, birds and fresh air during the day and come in to their normal perch on the office couch at night with the screen door left ajar allowing them to wander in and out as they please during the evening.

We were getting ready for bed and I heard Lewis in the office.   It sounded like he was throwing things around, rustling papers and moving furniture?  When I started to enter the room the door slammed shut.  “Why are you closing the door?” I asked.  “There’s a POSSUM in here!” he shouted.  “What!?!”  “Go get a broom, come in here and help me herd him out!”  All I could think was that I was wearing just a nightie and no shoes.  Did I think he would run up and bite my toes?  Maybe!

I cautiously entered the room, the broom held in front of my feet.  The cats were both there, not afraid or fur standing on end, just casually inspecting the imposter.  Every time the possum would get close to the open screen door he would run back in again.  I inched closer with my broom and he eyed me from the doorway, once again standing his ground.  He took a step towards me and….I screamed.  I made a sound I had never heard myself make before and I kept making it, the high pitched sound bouncing off the walls, the possum’s beady eyes meeting mine.  I’m sure he thought to himself, “This lady is nuts, I’m outta here” as he exited and scampered away.

Isn’t there a better way to discover that the cats are not hunters?

 From Lewis

 After all these years, I have never heard Janelle yell that loud and at the same time, squeal like a little girl.  It was so cute and she scared the shit out of it.

What do you think?

camino times two

walking together from Le Puy to Finisterre

What Were We Thinking?

One Couple's Foray into Remodeling Purgatory.

tenandsix(andtwelve)

Fashion. Food. Lifestyle. Inspiration.

Salted Kitchen

For the love of vegetables

foodbod

healthy tasty food that I love to make and eat and share

On the Luce travel blog

Part-time travel, full-time travel obsession

McALPINE

Residential Architecture and Interior Design Partnership. We find sanctuary in a place that mirrors our soul. The best house is the house that looks like how we feel inside.

Adventures in Remodeling

Misdirected remodeling

Miss Four Eyes

Seeing twice as much absolutely counts as a super power.

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Attempts in Domesticity

trying to emulate Martha Stewart in a town full of hipsters...

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

designchalk.wordpress.com/

Comfortable, classic + timeless spaces

The Ugly Volvo

Attempts at Adulthood

TalesAlongTheWay

Life's journey to discover tales of history, culture, and faith from New York to India and places along the way.

No White Food

Add Life::Eat Color

